Big Gay Blog



We homosexuals apparently want to ruin the meaning of marriage…

But what about this?

http://www.cnn.com/2010/LIVING/personal/03/23/o.open.marriages.work/index.html?hpt=C2#comment-41223325

Found this article in my daily ramblings and I was like WTF?  Nearly all the die-hard individuals against gay marriage use the excuse that homosexual unions would ruin the sanctity of marriage.

However, what about all these heterosexual crazies that want to have their cake and eat it too?  “I want to be married but I want to do my own thing on the side at least 3 nights per week.”  Why bother getting married at all?!  Tell me how that does not ruin the sanctity of marriage?  I would just like to know… Somehow I feel like in your standard wedding script, one of the lines is “forsaking all others.” Hence the term, MONOGAMY!  Now granted, I don’t agree with some of the lines in wedding scripts for example the archaic ideas that Woman is supposed to be submissive to Man.  Its 2010 people, we are equal.  However, monogamy is the basis of marriage.

I feel like marriage between two people whom are in love and want to make a monogamous commitment to spend their lives together, is much less of a threat to the sanctity of marriage than unhappy hetero marriages that increase divorce rates and open marriages that blatantly go against marriage vows.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Big Gay Blog says:

    You have a really good point Denisha. A lot of studies are showing that divorce rates are down in states that allow gay unions.
    I am curious to see how other states handle their numbers and what conclusions they will come to.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * Big Gay Blog says:

      Note: Had an interesting convo in my Holistic Health class yesterday about marriage and divorce rates and was surprised when someone brought up the fact that alot of marriage vows are being changed from “as long as you both shall live” to “as long as love shall last.” So once again I say, AND THEY THINK HOMOSEXUALS ARE A THREAT TO THE SANCTITY OF MARRIAGE?! I think not.

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Denisha says:

    I agree on this issue. It will be interesting to see how the divorce rates look for same sex marriages over time since some heterosexuals are on their 2nd, 3rd, or 4th marriages by now. Nothing against divorce (I’m a divorcee) but the sanctity of anything is subjective in my opinion.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

