Big Gay Blog



Why don’t more people care?

I really feel like these days, youth isn’t interested enough in things that should matter to them.  When I get on facebook all I ever seem to hear is gossip and the 50 million trivial little things that go on that won’t amount to a hill of beans in the outcome of their lives.

I guess it really surprises me because I thought my generation was pretty smart, we were going to make a difference and pull the world out of the archaic spinning that our parents had held in motion.  I don’t see that happening yet.  I don’t hear enough about things people should really be worried about and really take into consideration as it concerns their future.  Instead, I read status updates about hair.  Don’t get me wrong,  hair is important.  I just hate to see it come before other things that need our attention.

There is strength in numbers and there seem to be many that do not take an active interest in gay issues or current issues at all.  It seems as if the only time a great deal of individuals really show interest is if something is splashed across the media ex: Constance/Prom.  Unfortunately there are a lot of things that happen that are not deigned important enough for a great deal of media attention, this is where keeping yourself informed comes in.  I know that the steady group that holds on and keeps pushing for gay rights have an impact,  I just wish more individuals took the time to acquaint themselves with the issues that are in our hands.  If we don’t take the initiative to make a difference who will?!  What kind of environment are we leaving to our children if we don’t do the most we can to enforce change.  The world I grew up in was not so bad, but there was a lot of ignorance…still IS a lot of ignorance that runs rampant throughout our parental generation.  We should want to change that, make things better.

Please care…inform yourself.  Form an opinion, take a stance, do something!


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Big Gay Blog says:

    I realize that everyone doesn’t feel the same way as I do about things that are important but you seemed to miss the point entirely, people should be broadening their base of knowledge and developing opinions.
    Sexual orientation has nothing to do with caring, it really shouldn’t matter if people are straight, they should still have an opinion and care about what happens to others. There are many straight allies out there.
    I think facebook is what you make it, I recall seeing the term networking on which I feel that this could be classified under.
    Perhaps I have censored my statuses, it doesn’t change the fact that I still see more each day.
    And not that I should have to defend myself against an anonymous individual that located my site from facebook, but I have been doing things about it, as you so basely put it and if you are really going to get that touchy over me wanting more people to care about others and the world that we are in charge of then don’t read it.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Anonymous says:

    - Maybe everyone doesn’t feel what is important to you is that important.
    – People only care about something when it affects them. Most of the U.S. population is straight.
    – Facebook, from what I understand is a social network for recreation, not activism. I think there are appropriate sites for that. Not to say that it shouldn’t exist on Facebook, but that’s not the main function of that site.
    – If you’re tired of seeing these statuses, why don’t you just eliminate the problem and sensor what you see?

    I agree that if people have an issue, they should do something about it instead just sitting around complaining about it though. If you have an issue, do something about it. If you don’t do anything about it, quit your b*tching.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 5 months ago
    • * katie says:

      I completely disagree.
      Facebook, is indeed a place for activism. If you would remember, facebook was originally a location for COLLEGE students, to communicate. It has always existed for the purpose of furthering one’s mind. That the rest of the world has become a part of this college space, however, does not change its purpose for connecting, and for allowing groups of people, to debate and discuss.
      If you have a problem with people posting about what is passionate about their lives, than get the hell off facebook.
      And, don’t pester other peoples blogs.
      The world has more than enough censorship, so don’t get your panties in a bundle. Maybe, if you are offended, you ought to be. Open your fucking mind.

      Thanks.

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 5 months ago
      • * Anonymous says:

        I really think you misinterpreted what I said. I disagreed with the OP in the case of the status updates. I agree that people need to stand up for what they believe is right and have no right to complain if they aren’t going to do something to better the problem they see at hand. I also recall stating that it’s not that I don’t believe activism shouldn’t be on Facebook, I just believe that FB is not solely for activism (I already figured someone would attack me about that. You know, not reading what I wrote correctly and jumping to conclusions.)

        I never said I was offended and I simply told the OP that if they wanted to stop seeing statuses about “hair” or whatever it may be that they just block them.

        Posted 4 years, 5 months ago
      • * Big Gay Blog says:

        Perhaps we are doing things to better the problems that we see and I would consider myself involved in that. If you have read some of my earlier blogs I state that one of the biggest hurdles the LGBT community faces is ignorance. Which is what this is really all about. I started this blog to combat ignorance, to inform individuals about what is going on in the LGBT community as it does not get the media attention that it deserves. If you noticed in my blog I wanted more people to take an active interest in informing themselves about different issues. It doesn’t have to be gay rights it can be politics of other sorts, its about getting their heads outside of the tiny box they live in and caring about others and what happens to our world.

        Posted 4 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

